Emory interview

Emory was great. There were some pluses and minuses, but overall, I had a great experience. I am extremely grateful that I even had the opportunity to interview at Emory!! I stayed overnight with an Emory host student because the interview on Friday started at 7:30. The M1 students had an exam on Friday, so my host student wasn’t that accessible. When I arrived, I ran around Lullwater park, to the school of medicine building, and across parts of the campus.

There were 18 students interviewing for Emory–we were split into 2 groups. I was in the first interview block. After Dean Schwartz did introductions, I was swept away with two other interviewees for a group interview. One of the students was full of himself and reminded me of a greasy businessman. The other seemed normal. After the group interview, we had down time and chatted with current medical students who stopped by the admissions area for cookies and coffee. Talking with current students was my favorite part of the day because I got a feel for the student body and life in Atlanta. I had my second interview (err, ‘conversation’), which I hope went well. In the afternoon, we took a bus to downtown Atlanta to tour Grady Hospital.

Things I liked: Preclinical courses are pass/fail without any internal ranking system. More than 50% of the student body is non-trad, which is something I’m looking for in a student body because even 1 or 2 years makes a huge difference in students’ maturity (well, let’s ignore who’s writing). Students are assigned to small groups which meet every week for all four years of med school. I like the continuity of interaction in the small group setup. Campus facilities are very nice. Grady hospital is truly serving the underserved, uninsured population, which is something we can’t ignore in healthcare moving forward. Finally, I spoke with a M2 student who convinced me that while some students get sucked back into the university bubble, it’s possible not to be sucked into the bubble. I think this goes along with the fact that such a high % of their students are non-trad. We’ve lived in the ‘real world’ and want to remain engaged in it rather than climbing back into the ivory towers of academia. Or, at least, that’s my goal. Finally, there are some nice trails near campus and plenty of hills.

Things I did not like: Grady is at least 20 min away from campus without traffic (like TGH to USF). Cars are still a necessity in Atlanta (ugh, carbon footprint). The bike lane situation near Emory isn’t great, but I’d definitely give cycling a go if I end up in Atlanta. Public transportation is also poor. Sigh. When will Tesla become affordable??

Decisions are mailed Oct. 19…keeping my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

