Hiking: Leysin-Feydey to Berneuse

Wanted to do some hiking with altitude gain in preparation for the Zermatt Half in July. I started in Leysin-Feydey (1,260 m), an easy one (ish) hour train ride away. I got a little lost at the beginning of the trail, and found myself at the start of the rock climbing route. Circling back to the hiking trail, I took another *adventure* turn and ended up walking up a mountain biking trail, which was also definitely a ski slope that I skied down in the winter. Undeterred, I climbed up the steep hill, which cut out quite a bit of trail distance because I was essentially going UP. Near the top, I wanted to go to Tour d’Ai, which Aaron recommended for the superb views of Lac Léman. However, I didn’t see the hiking trail sign toward Tour d’Ai, so took a left and went up to Berneuse (2,045 m). On my way down from Berneuse, I saw the trail to Tour d’Ai, however the dark clouds that had been slowly rolling in for the last 40 minutes had finally arrived. Opting to stay on the safe side (especially since I was alone), I started the descent down and skipped the ascent to Tour d’Ai. I feel bummed about almost making it to the top, but not actually getting there. It feels like the end of a sentence that lacks a punctuation mark.

IMG_0346
Ski slope 1 that I walked up.
IMG_0347
Ski slope 2…picture really doesn’t capture the hill’s steepness.
IMG_0355
Tour d’Ai before the rain clouds descended.

IMG_0336 IMG_0343 IMG_0350 IMG_0360 IMG_0364

Leave a Reply

