Nice

Spent Saturday in Nice. i’m going to refrain from the obvious pun here.

My plane arrived at 7 AM. First stop: Colline du Chateau. The top of the hill yielded wonderful views of the La Baie des Anges. I saw some pretty cool remnants of what once must have been grand stone structures. I was kind of surprised to see so many cacti…wasn’t really expecting succulents in the mediterranean climate. While walking in la vieille ville, I stumbled upon a flower and produce market. I picked up some intensely red strawberries for breakfast.

IMG_0006 IMG_0007 IMG_0010 IMG_3375

After my stroll through the market, I walked along Promenade des Anglais until I reached the port. Since I had nothing else to do, I signed up for a 1 hour boat tour that went to the neighboring bay, Rade de Villefranche. Saw some villas that belong to famous people. I was mostly just happy to be on a boat. Definitely had a burning desire that it was diving season…can’t wait for the summer!

IMG_0020
this man napping on a boat along the French Riviera knows what’s up

IMG_0012 IMG_0027

After the boat tour, I walked uphill to the Matisse museum. It was underwhelming. Anyway, I got back to my hostel and started talking with the receptionist. I asked when I could catch a bus back to the airport the following morning (aka this morning). She said there was 1 bus at 6:20 AM, but the buses sometimes didn’t run that early. I looked at a map and saw that the airport was only 6 km away, so I figured if the bus didn’t come, I could walk/run. (Not sure how much a taxi is, but in Switzerland, they’re stupidly expensive.) I wanted to double check that there were sidewalks all the way to the airport and how long it would take. So I walked there. Since I didn’t feel like paying for the bus ride back, I walked back. Turns out, this morning, the bus came right on time. Well, at least now I know you can walk to the Nice airport in 55 min, in case you’re ever in a pickle and need to walk to the airport. I’ve got some work to do, so deuces mooses. Catch you all in two weeks, after the Whitaker conference!

IMG_0031
Musée Matisse
IMG_3380
Hey look, I’m home! Just kidding.
Leave a Reply

