Bernese Oberland

This past weekend consisted of mountains, snow, and more mountains! My heaven on Earth. I left work early to catch the 16:50 train from Lausanne to Bern to Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen. From Lauterbrunnen, I took the 141 Postbus up to Schilthornbahn and transferred to a cable car, which took me up to Gimmelwald, a small community perched on the edge of a cliff with spectacular mountain views.

IMG_0981
Trekking through the snow at Jungfraujoch
IMG_0984
Schweiz!
IMG_0963
“Top of Europe”

On Saturday morning, I went to Jungfraujoch, dubbed “Top of Europe” as it holds the title of highest railway station in Europe (3454 m). I trekked through snow, zip-lined, and explored the indoor “ice palace.” After spending quite a bit of time in the snow, I took the train back down to Kleine Scheidegg. It just so happened that the Jungfrau Marathon was being held the day I visited, with the finish line at Kleine Scheidegg!! So I cheered on marathon runners (who climbed 1500 m during this one run!). In the afternoon, I hiked from Kleine Scheidegg to Mannlichen and took a series of cable cars back to Gimmelwald.

Hike from Kleine Scheidegg to Mannlichen
Hike from Kleine Scheidegg to Mannlichen
Kleine Scheidegg - finish of the Jungfrau Marathon
Kleine Scheidegg – finish of the Jungfrau Marathon

Sunday morning rain was not falling. It was another spectacularly sunny day. I took the train up to Schilthorn, where the 1969 James Bond movie was filmed. Breakfast buffet at the rotating restaurant was worth it if only for the views of the Bernese Oberland. Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau perched majestically in the distance. I squeezed in one more afternoon hike before I left the mountains for Lausanne.

Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau, view from Schilthorn
Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau – view from Schilthorn
IMG_1076
Hike near Murren – Swiss Alps allow even a point-and-shoot camera to yield decent pictures!
Leave a Reply

