Cheesy Book

Since I’m being left in the dust on the blog-post race, I thought I’d write one about a book I read on LDOC. Let me preface this with, please don’t tease me for reading a book on LDOC. I figured LDOC is a day of fun and games, and since the whole campus takes a hiatus from work, I should spend the day doing what I wanted to do. And it was a glorious day that consisted of me climbing the chapel (favorite LDOC event), stuffing my face with ice cream, running Forest, and sitting on a swingy bench reading this book.

When I was leaving Perkins on Tuesday, I saw Lois Lowry’s newest book Son on display. (It’s the conclusion to The Giver.) It seemed like a pleasant read, so I picked it up. Here’s my one sentence book review: cheesy story about a mother’s love for her son and the destruction of evil through love…told through the lens of a dystopian society. It wasn’t earth-shattering, schema-changing, or thought provoking, but it did give me warm and fuzzy feelings inside. It was kind of like a cup of hot chocolate. You know there’s nothing really nutritious, but it’s enjoyable and makes you happy for the time being. And I guess not everything we read or do needs to make us ask big questions. But when I finished reading the book and realized I didn’t have to read in between the lines to understand the message, it seemed, well, different from the literature courses that I’ve taken here.

One thing I’ve noticed is that the humanities are always trying to complicate things. They’re always trying to find the metaphor here or the hidden representation there. Well what if the author is really trying to say what they point-blank said?? It seems like (warning: generalization ahead) my engineering/science friends are always trying to find the easiest, most succinct way to figure out a problem (favorite words are “let’s assume”) while my non-STEM friends are always trying to complicate things. (I guess they need to if they’re writing monstrous 20,30,40 page papers…) I understand that ambiguities can add artistic value and raise thought-provoking questions, but I sometimes wonder why people complicate things.

LDOC festivities:

Top of the chapel with this goober
Top of the chapel with this goober
IMG_0490
Events Pavilion Construction
IMG_0491
More construction. The left side of the BC looks like a staircase.
IMG_0487
Equad on the left, Perkins/Bostock on the right, and DUH in the background. The Perkins roof hatch was open, but I couldn’t find a way to get up there. (Div school refectory not pictured, but would be at the bottom of the picture)

 

Leave a Reply

